Education Performance Task Force sub-committees to speed up goal implementation

The newly established Education Performance Task Force (EPTF) has appointed several sub-committees aimed at implementing its goals.
The task force headed by Dr M Upali Sedara were handed over their
letters of appointment by Education Minister Dullas Alahapperuma. Seven of the sub-committees are due to commence work by next month. A member of the task force, S U Wijeratne, told Education Times that sub-committees have been set up on changes to the Grade 5 scholarship
examination, plans to increase national schools to 1,000, development
of primary schools, increasing participation of students in sports
activities, and revising syllabuses.
The task force was appointed on the recommendation of President
Gotabaya Rajapaksa. State Minister of Education Ranjith Siyambalapitiya said that 14 areas have been identified for development.
The 14 areas include improving the infrastructure of schools that are facing closure, providing an additional allowance to teachers serving in difficult areas, establishing at least 20 trilingual schools of super grade, upgrading educational colleges to university faculties, legal changes required regarding teacher transfers, developing a programme on improving health nutrition, and introducing a new scientific system on admissions.
The other members in the task force are Prof Sudantha Liyanage, Prof M D Lamahewa, Prof W D Kularatne, P N Meegaswatta, S U Wijeratne, Prof Ratnayake M Mudiyanse, Dr Harsha Alles, Additional Secretary/Policy planning of the Ministry of Education Dr Madura Wehella, Prof Narada
Warnasuriya and Dr T A Piyasiri.