The induction of the 83rd President, Professor Sagarika Ekanayake, and annual dinner of the Institute of Chemistry Ceylon was held on the 15th of August 2020, at the Galle Face Hotel, Colombo. The evening was honorably graced by the presence of the Chief Guest, Emeritus Professor Savitri Kumar, University of Peradeniya and Visiting Research Professor at the National Institute of Fundamental Studies, Kandy. She is a holder of many scientific and research awards and a bearer of over 18,000 citations.

The distinguished gathering was welcomed by Professor Priyani Paranagama, the Outgoing President of the Institute of Chemistry Ceylon.

The Guest of Honor, Professor Jayantha Welihinda, introduced the incoming president to the audience and proposed a toast to her success. In her address, the newly inducted President, Professor Sagarika Ekanayake, gave an insight into her future objectives as the president at IChemC and what she intends to do to make the institute a better learning and working facility. She also expressed her gratitude towards all those who helped her reach this position, including the staff at College of Chemical Sciences.

The entertainment item by our very own graduates made the event even more colorful. The evening ended with the Vote of Thanks delivered by Dr. Chayanika Padumadasa, followed by the raffle draw and a few performances by the staff at CCS. We all wish our newly inducted president, Professor Sagarika Ekanayake, all the best in her future here at the Institute of Chemistry Ceylon.

Ms. A N Wethalawe