The National Level English and Drama Competition 2019 Award Ceremony

Hosted At Elphinstone Theater

The National Level English and Drama Competition were successfully concluded recently, and it was time to felicitate the winners. The awards ceremony for the deserving victors was held on 28th of November 2019, from 9 am to 12.30 pm.

These victors were crowned at Elphinstone Theater, Colombo 10. The award ceremony was organized under the guidance of the English and Foreign Languages Branch of the Ministry of Education. The entire event was coordinated through the efforts and valour of Sandhya Napagoda (Organizer of the National Level English Language and Drama Competition and the Award Ceremony, ISA English, English and Foreign Languages Branch of Ministry of Education), who made the necessary adjustments for the event to proceed without any cause for complaints. Ms Napagoda successfully organized this competition for the past 7 consecutive years. Apt support was given by the main sponsor Brandix Lanka Ltd and other sponsors BCAS Campus to make this event is memorable for the attendees.

Several note-able faces graced the ceremony with their presence. Ms Gill Caldicott who acts as the Country Director in the British Council of Sri Lanka came in as the Chief Guest. Ms Krish Brecht, the Country Director, of the US Peace Corps, was the Guest of Honor. Another familiar face, Mr.H.U.Premathilake who holds office as the Additional Secretary of Education Quality Development in the Ministry of Education brightened proceedings. Furthermore, a teacher from each school along with a parent of each certificate winner was invited to witness the ceremony.

The main agenda for the day was to

  • Award of certificates and medals-gold, silver and bronze to the first three places of each individual item and dramas.
  • Award of trophies to first three places of each category of dramas
  • Award of Felicitation plaques to veteran judges of the competitions namely, Dr Chandra Amarasekara, Ms.Kamala Wijeratne, Mr.Douglas Ranasinghe, Mr Palitha Silva, Mr Jayanath Bandara, Mr Sachithra Rahubadda, Mrs Gaya Nagahawatte and Mr Jerome de Silva
  • Award of the trophy to the best performing province-Western Province ( Assessed on overall performance-number, of achievements at the national level competitions)

The competitions were held on 4 days; the 19th, 20th and 26th of October at Thurstan College, Colombo 03, with the involvement of 102 judges selected from all 9 provinces. 1211 students competed under 7 categories of individual items and 4 categories of dramas. Competitions were administered and the award ceremony was organized under the guidance of former secretary to the Ministry. The awards bestowed, and the winners of the competition are as follows.